Bumble Location Feature Explained
Why Does Bumble Sometimes Show Distance?
If the user is still talking to matches they met in California while still in New York, it will not provide an accurate location. This is why it will show up as no location for the user. Bumble is not able to determine a location near the user, and it will appear blank.
why bumble profile doesn’t show location anymore?
If a user’s location isn’t showing on their profile –– don’t worry. A location won’t appear if that user has set their profile on Snooze mode (for folks you’ve already matched with), if they are not near one of our geographical pinpoints, or if they haven’t opened the app for several days.
Does The “~” on Bumble Mean That The User Has Not Opened The App in a While?
That symbol means “roughly.” It will often show up next to the distance someone is from you. It means that Bumble is approximating the distance between you and that person.
Bumble has been around for a few years now and its location tracking seems to be fairly accurate. It seems that the app can tell where you are without a problem. The search results that you see first to swipe right or left will most likely be the closest users to your location. After Bumble takes location into account the popularity of a profile also goes into which photos pop up first in your possible match list. Profiles that people seem to like and swipe right seem to show up more often and earlier in the list than people’s profiles that get turned down more.
Sometimes Bumble’s location is wrong because it can’t register the difference between one town and another. Say you live in a town that’s close to another town, Bumble might incorrectly show your location as the town you’re close to but not in. So in terms of a city, it’s almost never wrong, but it can be wrong by a few miles when it comes to your location.
Bumble is different from other apps because it doesn’t run in the background all the time. When you close the app on your device the app actually shuts down unless you get a match or a message. So, because of this, if you aren’t currently online the app has no idea of your exact location.
It only knows the last location you were online at. The app displays this on your profile usually as your city name. Other users won’t be able to see how many miles away you are from them like when you are online. When you go back online the app does take your location from either the Wi-Fi you are using or your device’s GPS.
Bumble only updates your location as frequently as you visit the app and your location has changed. If you continuously visit the app but your location doesn’t change, then Bumble won’t be updating your location as frequently as you open the app. But if you always change your location and visit the app each time you’ve changed your location, then you’ll notice that Bumble will be updating your location frequently to other users.
Don’t be concerned if a user’s location isn’t displayed on their profile page. If a user has changed their profile to Snooze mode (for people you’ve previously matched with), if they are not in the location of one of your selected locations or haven’t accessed the app in many days, their location will not get displayed. If someone had set their location to “always” track, they might have changed their setting to “using app,” and you may be using the app at different types, which is why the distance may disappear.
Does Bumble Update The Location When the App is Closed?
To swipe on people in your proximity while the app is open, you must grant Bumble location rights while the app is available. You have a choice between two options:
Always: Your location will get updated both while the Bumble app is open and running in the background. To prevent your location from being updated while the app is not open, you can force the app to shut down completely.
Using the app: As long as the Bumble app is active and in use, your location will only get updated when the Bumble app is in use. Unless the app is being used in the background, it will not get updated.
The Bumble app will only update your location information while you are actively using the app and when the app is stopped, which means the Location feature gets turned off. When you are not connected to the internet, the app will use the most recent location found online. While other Bumble users are scrolling through their feed, the app will use the same location to present them to other users. The app may use both WiFi and GPS data when tracking your location.
Some people think Bumble displays the wrong location, but this is not true. Bumble shows the area someone was at while they were using the app. Due to internet challenges, the app may be slow to update, showing the “wrong” one. If you find that your Bumble location is wrong, you need to check your internet setting and ensure that your VPN is not on as you use the app. If there are no changes, contact the Bumble team, and they will help you determine what the problem is and why you have the wrong location.
Bumble only shows your city when a user hasn’t visited the app in a while, so the information isn’t updated and accurate. Bumble can’t go off a specific town it register weeks ago but there’s a chance that the user won’t be in the same place anymore. Therefore, they’ll only show you their city because they’re still likely to be in the same city, but not in the same town that it was registered previously. Bumble might also only show the city someone is in if their device has been turned off for a while or they have deleted the app.
Bumble uses geolocation to display users who are close to where you are. When your cellular service pinpoints your location and plots it on a map, this is known as geolocation. Some profiles may not have a distance shown on them, and you may stumble across these profiles. If the user is outside the distance radius you’ve chosen, the distance will not get displayed to them. For example, users who travel more than 99 miles will not see their actual distance traveled. Bumble cannot locate its location because the user’s situation is outside of the location radius.
Another reason why Bumble is only showing you someone’s city is that it isn’t able to determine the correct town someone is it so it can only display their city. If someone lives in an unknown city that Bumble isn’t able to determine, then they’ll only show you the city that they’re in.
Everyone who uses Bumble is already aware that location on Bumble is quite essential in discovering more matches and upgrading Bumble dating services. Under your profile photo, you will find a reported location, which will display the city in which you reside. Bumble will use your GPS data to determine your new location saved to your profile as your new location each time your location changes. Depending on your settings, Bumble will either show your area or show your location as you use the app.