Question: Who Can See My Check-Ins On Facebook?

Facebook Places on iPhoneFacebook Places uses GPS on your iPhone (and soon Android phones) to determine your location, and then finds a list of places (for instance, a restaurant, bar or even a playground) nearby. You can then “check-in” to one of these places to let your friends know where you are. Your location is updated on your Facebook status page and will be visible to everyone who has access to your Facebook Recent Activity. When you check in, you can also tag Facebook friends who are with you.

Unlike your normal status updates, your status in “People Here Now” is visible to everyone checked-in to that location. If youre not comfortable with that, you can opt-out by unchecking the “Include me in People Here Now after I check in” your privacy controls. Hopefully, Facebook will improve this feature to limit “People Here Now” to friends-only, if you choose.

Its important to realize that no one will know where you are or be able to track you unless you check yourself in or your friends check you in. But you receive a notice if you are checked-in by a friend allowing you to “check-out. You can also prevent any friends from being able to check you in, and well cover that in the privacy control section below.

Facebook Places uses a new version of the Facebook app, which you must download to your iPhone. If you are using an Android phone that supports HTML 5 and geolocation (most of the newer phones do), you can also get to Facebook Places using you mobile browser at touch.facebook.com.

Location-based services like Facebook Places (Foursquare and Gowalla are the other big players) allow you to find friends who may be in the same location. This is very helpful for impromptu get-togethers, especially in large areas where it is hard to see who might be there. I can definitely see using this myself when at the zoo or museum with the kids to see which of their friends may be there.

What is equally interesting, is that businesses are able to use location-based services to offer special coupons and deals. So next time you check into your local Starbucks, a coupon could pop up offering you $1 off your latté. Or they might award a special prize, such as reserved seating, to their most frequent customers. Facebook Places isnt offering this yet, but they almost certainly will be soon. Its main competitor, Foursquare, already is.

Weve complained about Facebooks automatic “opt-in” policies for new features in the past. Like these past feature, Facebook Places is also automatically set to “opt-in”. However, with Facebook Places, your location is never revealed unless you check-in to tell Facebook where you are or one of your friends checks you in.

Now, depending on how much you trust your friends judgment, you may not be comfortable having them check you in. Especially, since doing so will reveal your location to anyone who can view their status updates, as well as adding you to that locations “People Here Now”. I recommend that you turn this feature off.

You may also want to limit who can see your location check-ins to friends and turn off the “People Here Now” feature, so that only people you trust will know where you are. I recommend that you do this also, as there have been real cases of criminal groups using location services to burglarize homes when they know people are away. But keep in mind that doing so will make it more difficult for friends to find you as well.

There are three typical settings for “Places I Check In.” You can set your check-ins to “Everyone” (all Facebook users will see every check-in), “Friends of Friends” (your Facebook friends and their friends will see your check-ins) and “Friends Only” (just your Facebook friends will see your check-in).

How To Delete Check-ins On Facebook | Sky tech

How can I hide my Facebook likesAnswered By:

Facebook Help Team If you navigate to your profile, you should see a tab labeled “More” under your cover photo.

Click on this tab and scroll down to “Likes.” From here, you can click on the small pencil icon in the upper right corner of your likes, and select “Edit the Privacy of your Likes.”. Asked By:

Why has check in disappeared from FacebookAnswered By:

If you still experiencing issues with check in option, please consider updating Facebook App if you use a mobile device or clearing your cache if you use a web browser. I hope this helps. Comment I have read the Facebook Help Community Policies. Add Answer I have read the Facebook Help Community Policies. Asked By:

Can someone tell if I look at their Facebook page a lotAnswered By:

Although there is no clear metric, you can get an idea of who views your profile on Facebook. Facebook has stated that they do not allow for users to keep track of who has seen their profile and that third-party apps cannot track it either. Asked By:

Facebook Places Tells Friends Where You Are – Here’s How it Works

Facebook Places on iPhoneFacebook Places uses GPS on your iPhone (and soon Android phones) to determine your location, and then finds a list of places (for instance, a restaurant, bar or even a playground) nearby. You can then “check-in” to one of these places to let your friends know where you are. Your location is updated on your Facebook status page and will be visible to everyone who has access to your Facebook Recent Activity. When you check in, you can also tag Facebook friends who are with you.

Facebook Places uses a new version of the Facebook app, which you must download to your iPhone. If you are using an Android phone that supports HTML 5 and geolocation (most of the newer phones do), you can also get to Facebook Places using you mobile browser at touch.facebook.com.

What is equally interesting, is that businesses are able to use location-based services to offer special coupons and deals. So next time you check into your local Starbucks, a coupon could pop up offering you $1 off your latté. Or they might award a special prize, such as reserved seating, to their most frequent customers. Facebook Places isnt offering this yet, but they almost certainly will be soon. Its main competitor, Foursquare, already is.

Unlike your normal status updates, your status in “People Here Now” is visible to everyone checked-in to that location. If youre not comfortable with that, you can opt-out by unchecking the “Include me in People Here Now after I check in” your privacy controls. Hopefully, Facebook will improve this feature to limit “People Here Now” to friends-only, if you choose.

Its important to realize that no one will know where you are or be able to track you unless you check yourself in or your friends check you in. But you receive a notice if you are checked-in by a friend allowing you to “check-out. You can also prevent any friends from being able to check you in, and well cover that in the privacy control section below.

Leave a Comment