How to delete your Google Chrome browsing history

It’s okay to want to keep your search history safe from Google. Google has been in the data-security news section quite a lot—and not always in a good way. People are learning to be wary of how data is being used by Google, from leaking its products to leaking customer data and even collecting the personal information of people who use Google apps.

Clear your history
  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Chrome app .
  2. At the top right, tap More. History. …
  3. Tap Clear browsing data.
  4. Next to “Time range”: To clear a portion of your history, select the dates. …
  5. Check the box next to “Browsing history.”
  6. Uncheck any other data you don’t want to delete.
  7. Tap Clear data.

How To Clear Chrome Browser History in Android

How to delete your Google Chrome browsing history

Next, go down to History and open it into fullscreen by clicking the tab. Alternatively, if you are a PC user, you can select Ctrl + H in Google Chrome to access your History page. If you are a Mac user, you can choose ⌘ Command + Y in Google Chrome.

Use a Web Browser to Delete Google Search History in MyActivity

how to delete history on google chrome android

Take note that deleting search history removes it from your Google account, not specific devices. Therefore, deleting any history deletes it from all devices.

Follow the steps below to delete Google history using your iPhone, Android phone, tablet, MacBook, Chromebook, desktop PC, or laptop.

  • Go to your My Activity page using a browser.
  • DO NOT CLICK THE “DELETE” DROPDOWN at this point. This action has time filters (only before adding other filters like time or product), but it deletes all Google History (not just Google Search) immediately upon clicking it. If filters were already added, you’ll receive a prompt first.
  • Click on the three vertical dots to the right of “Search Your Activity.”
  • Choose the timeframe you’d like to delete your search history for. For the purposes of our article, we’re selecting “All Time.”
  • On this next screen, check the box next to “Google Search” and uncheck the other boxes listed. Then, click “Next.” Note: If you want to delete everything, leave the other boxes checked.
  • Finally, review the web pages and click “Delete.”
  • Using the above steps allows you to quickly delete your Google search history using specific dates and keywords if desired. Upon completing the above-listed steps, all Google search history is deleted from the devices associated with that account.

    Follow the steps below: if you want a quick and easy way to bulk-delete all Google search history, plus optionally remove browsing history, saved passwords, cache, and cookies on Chrome.

  • Launch Chrome and ensure you are logged in.
  • Click the “vertical ellipsis” (three vertical dots) in the top right-hand corner of your browser to open the Chrome menu.
  • Now, select “Settings” from the options.
  • Next, click on “Clear browsing data,” located in the “Privacy and security” section.
  • A new tab will open from which you can choose from “Basic” or “Advanced” tools. “Basic” is a way to quickly clear Google history while “Advanced” gives you more control over the individual elements, such as passwords.
  • The above steps delete all Google history (including search history) you selected during the removal process.

    On your Android device, open Google Chrome and follow these steps:

  • Tap on the “vertical ellipsis” (three vertical dots) in the upper right-hand corner.
  • how to delete history on google chrome android

    2. Now, tap “History.”

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    3. Next, select “Clear browsing data…” in the new window.

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    Note: You can also tap the X next to each web page to delete your searches individually.

    All of your Google history, including search history, disappears after performing the above steps. Therefore, ensure you have saved any sites, data, and other personal information elsewhere.

    For iPhone users, open Google history and follow these steps to clear your history:

  • Tap the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots) menu icon in the lower right-hand corner.
  • how to delete history on google chrome android

    2. Next, tap on “History.”

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    3. Then, tap “Clear Browsing Data…” on Cookies and iMessage Search History.

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    All of your Chrome browsing history on your iPhone is now deleted, including Google search history.

    Google does offer an option to dump your data automatically. If you prefer to keep some data, it’s best to avoid this function. However, if you feel like manually deleting your Google search data, follow these steps to set up the auto-delete feature:

  • Visit your Google Activity page, but be sure you are logged into the correct account.
  • In the left navigational menu, click on “Activity controls.”
  • Scroll down and click on “Auto-delete (Off)
  • Choose to auto-delete activity older than “3 months,” “18 months,” or “36 months,” then click “Next.”
  • Confirm your auto-delete activity option by clicking on “Confirm.” Remember that the preview is just that.
  • Google’s streamlined services are relatively user-friendly, but keep reading if you have more questions.

    I want to save my passwords but delete everything else. How can I do this?

    If you’re deleting all of your Google data, it is possible to de-select the option under Clear Browsing Data for clearing passwords. But, if you want more security, you can use a browser extension such as Last Pass to store all of your passwords in a secure location.

    Like Google or Chrome storing these passwords for you, Last Pass will auto-fill your passwords.

    Yes. If you’re no longer interested in using your current Google account, you can permanently delete it. We do have an article here that explains the entire process.

    If you visit the Google Account webpage, you can click on the option to download all of your data and delete your entire Google account and everything that goes with it.

    Just keep in mind that performing this action will completely wipe out all your Google-related information. This process includes losing all Google Docs, emails, contacts, and more. If you’re using an Android device, you’ll need to create or use another Google account to access many features and backup your device.

    Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    how to delete history on google chrome android

    Leave a Comment