How to delete files from Dropbox to save space in 3 ways, and recover them later

Open the Dropbox folder on your computer. Right-click the file or folder you’d like to delete.

Delete a file or folder
  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Hover over the file or folder and click the “…” (ellipsis).
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Click Delete again to confirm.

How to Delete Files From Dropbox 2021 | www.dropbox.com

Show instructions for:

There are two ways to remove a file from your phone or tablet. You can either remove them from your local memory, or you can choose to delete the file from your Dropbox.

Local copies of your files download to your phone or tablet whenever they are opened via the Dropbox app. Once they have been opened, you can open them directly from your phone or tablet, even if youre offline. The files are saved directly to your phones memory in whats called a cache. To remove the files from your phone or tablet, all you have to do is clear your cache from Settings.

Clear your cache on phones with Android 3.0 (Gingerbread) or lower

To access your cache settings on phones and tablets with a menu button at the bottom of the screen:

  • Launch the Dropbox app and tap the Menu button on your phone or tablet to open the Dropbox menu.
  • Tap the gear icon to open the Settings menu.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the resulting menu and tap Clear Cache.
  • Check out the products mentioned in this article:

    1. Using a Mac or PC, open the Dropbox website in your browser and sign into your account.

    2. Click “Files” in the navigation pane on the left side of the window.

    3. Locate the file you want to delete and hover your mouse pointer over it.

    4. Click the three dots on the right and then choose “Delete” from the drop-down menu. Confirm by clicking “Delete” a second time.

    How to delete files from Dropbox using your desktop

    If youre syncing Dropbox with your Mac or PC, deleting a Dropbox file is no different than deleting any other kind of file.

    Just open the synced Dropbox folder on your desktop and delete the file you want to eliminate.

    You may be asked if you want to delete the file “everywhere,” or just off your computer. If you pick “everywhere,” in a few seconds, that file will disappear from the online Dropbox server and any other devices you are syncing to.

    Leave a Comment