How To Block Tinder Users So They Can’t See Your Profile While Swiping

For a while after my ex and I broke up, I was paranoid about seeing his profile appear whenever I swiped on Tinder or Bumble. My fear was exacerbated by the fact that we met on Bumble, so there was no reason why he wouldnt go back on when he was single again. I never did see his profile (and hes dating someone now), but I still panicked every time I saw a guy who looked like him or who shared his name. I longed to know how to block someone on Tinder before matching with them, if only to spare me the paranoia of having my exs face unexpectedly pop up on my screen when I was just trying to move TF on.

While it used to be the case that you could only interact with someone on Tinder once you actually matched with them, as of June 2021, the answer to the question of, “Can you block someone on Tinder before matching?,” is a resounding yes. Tinder now has a Block Contacts feature, which allows you to block your personal contacts from ever seeing you on the app.

“We may not be able to save you from awkward run-ins at the coffee shop, but we are giving you more control over your experience on Tinder,” Bernadette Morgan, Group Product Manager of Trust and Safety at Tinder, said in the brand’s press release. “We’re rolling out Block Contacts as an additional resource empowering members with peace of mind by helping create a worry-free space for them to spark new connections.” What’s great, too, is that everyone can access it, you can always update it, and because the app is connected to a phone number, the people you add to that list with that number won’t see you on Tinder. Cue the sighs of relief.

Upon offering the new feature, Tinder also released the results of a survey, which proved I’m not alone in wanting to make sure my ex never finds me on the app. Tinder found that more than 40% of respondents have come across an ex partner on a dating app, another 24% have seen a family member or colleague, and 10% have even come across their professor’s profile. Given the chance, 78% of those surveyed would prefer not to encounter people they know on Tinder, so it was clearly a desired change, and I’m grateful for it.

And don’t worry — you can still unmatch with people on Tinder if you forget to input them as a contact you want to block (or if you encounter a user who deserves to be blocked). As a Tinder spokesperson explains to Elite Daily, “Unmatching on Tinder is straightforward and easy to do — just tap the shield in the top right corner of your screen when youre messaging the person you want to unmatch. We take the safety and privacy of our users seriously, and the person you unmatched will not be notified that youve done so.”

Wondering how exactly to Unmatch with someone, whether its that pesky ex or a new match whos harassing you, not taking no for an answer, being sexually explicit, or just irritating you? Simply go to your conversation with said person and click the flag on the top right hand side of the screen. You will see that you have the options to either “Report [NAME]” or “Unmatch.” Click Unmatch.

Of course, if someone on the app is harassing you, you can (and should!) report them. Reporting your match will notify Tinder that this person is really, really pissing you off, is acting inappropriately, spamming you, or sending improper messages. And if enough people Report someone, that person could be banned from not just Tinder, but any dating app they’re using. You should note that Reporting someone wont Unmatch them, so you will have to select Unmatch after you Report.

No Matches on Bumble? This Is What You Do Now!

How To Block Tinder Users So They Can’t See Your Profile While Swiping

Wondering how exactly to Unmatch with someone, whether its that pesky ex or a new match whos harassing you, not taking no for an answer, being sexually explicit, or just irritating you? Simply go to your conversation with said person and click the flag on the top right hand side of the screen. You will see that you have the options to either “Report [NAME]” or “Unmatch.” Click Unmatch.

Of course, if someone on the app is harassing you, you can (and should!) report them. Reporting your match will notify Tinder that this person is really, really pissing you off, is acting inappropriately, spamming you, or sending improper messages. And if enough people Report someone, that person could be banned from not just Tinder, but any dating app they’re using. You should note that Reporting someone wont Unmatch them, so you will have to select Unmatch after you Report.

For a while after my ex and I broke up, I was paranoid about seeing his profile appear whenever I swiped on Tinder or Bumble. My fear was exacerbated by the fact that we met on Bumble, so there was no reason why he wouldnt go back on when he was single again. I never did see his profile (and hes dating someone now), but I still panicked every time I saw a guy who looked like him or who shared his name. I longed to know how to block someone on Tinder before matching with them, if only to spare me the paranoia of having my exs face unexpectedly pop up on my screen when I was just trying to move TF on.

Upon offering the new feature, Tinder also released the results of a survey, which proved I’m not alone in wanting to make sure my ex never finds me on the app. Tinder found that more than 40% of respondents have come across an ex partner on a dating app, another 24% have seen a family member or colleague, and 10% have even come across their professor’s profile. Given the chance, 78% of those surveyed would prefer not to encounter people they know on Tinder, so it was clearly a desired change, and I’m grateful for it.

While it used to be the case that you could only interact with someone on Tinder once you actually matched with them, as of June 2021, the answer to the question of, “Can you block someone on Tinder before matching?,” is a resounding yes. Tinder now has a Block Contacts feature, which allows you to block your personal contacts from ever seeing you on the app.

Leave a Comment