Facebook Places: How to Adjust Your Privacy Settings

Places is a new location-sharing feature in Facebook allows you to broadcast your specific location to other Facebook users. You can share your location with all Facebook users, just your friends, friends of friends, or only the people you specify. You can also use Places to check in your Facebook friends if their privacy settings allow it.

If you need more granular control over your check-in settings select “Customize” at the bottom of the drop down menu. This will open up a pop-up window where you can set your check-ins to be viewable only by you or by specific friends in your friends list. You can also exclude specific people by entering names in the “Hide This From” section (a handy setting if you want to exclude co-workers, parents, or others from seeing your check-ins). After you’ve customized your settings the way you like, click on “Save Setting.”

This is perhaps the most crucial setting to consider. Unlike other location services, Places gives your Facebook friends the power to register check-ins for you. The good news is you can stop people from revealing your location. On the same page as the other two settings, look for the heading called “Things Others Share.” The last setting in that section is called “Friends Can Check Me into Places.”

You can either enable or disable this feature; there are no customization options. If you choose disable, then any time a friend tries to check you in your name will be tagged at that location the way it would be in a status update. If you choose “Enable,” then friends will be able to register check-ins for you. Whether you want to cede control of your location information to other people is up to you.

Hold on, because we’re not done yet. You need to adjust one final control that would allow third-party applications (such as quizzes and games) used by your friends to access your location data. Facebook says that to adjust this setting all you need to do is “uncheck the new box in your Privacy Settings under “Applications and Websites.” It would have been helpful if Facebook specified which box they were talking about, but based on what I saw in my own settings this is what you need to do. Also, note that in my tests this check box was activated by default.

Go back to the top of the “Sharing on Facebook” privacy page and click the button that says “Back to Privacy” on the upper left. When you are back on the main privacy page, go down to the bottom and click on “Edit your settings” under the heading, “Applications and Websites.”

Scroll down to the section called “check-ins” and click the button with three dots. This will give you the option to hide the check-in section on your profile.

How To Delete Check-ins On Facebook | Sky tech

Facebook Places: How to Adjust Your Privacy Settings

Hold on, because we’re not done yet. You need to adjust one final control that would allow third-party applications (such as quizzes and games) used by your friends to access your location data. Facebook says that to adjust this setting all you need to do is “uncheck the new box in your Privacy Settings under “Applications and Websites.” It would have been helpful if Facebook specified which box they were talking about, but based on what I saw in my own settings this is what you need to do. Also, note that in my tests this check box was activated by default.

Go back to the top of the “Sharing on Facebook” privacy page and click the button that says “Back to Privacy” on the upper left. When you are back on the main privacy page, go down to the bottom and click on “Edit your settings” under the heading, “Applications and Websites.”

If you need more granular control over your check-in settings select “Customize” at the bottom of the drop down menu. This will open up a pop-up window where you can set your check-ins to be viewable only by you or by specific friends in your friends list. You can also exclude specific people by entering names in the “Hide This From” section (a handy setting if you want to exclude co-workers, parents, or others from seeing your check-ins). After you’ve customized your settings the way you like, click on “Save Setting.”

You can either enable or disable this feature; there are no customization options. If you choose disable, then any time a friend tries to check you in your name will be tagged at that location the way it would be in a status update. If you choose “Enable,” then friends will be able to register check-ins for you. Whether you want to cede control of your location information to other people is up to you.

Places is a new location-sharing feature in Facebook allows you to broadcast your specific location to other Facebook users. You can share your location with all Facebook users, just your friends, friends of friends, or only the people you specify. You can also use Places to check in your Facebook friends if their privacy settings allow it.

Leave a Comment