Content violations and bans

To submit an appeal:
  1. Locate the notification in your TikTok inbox.
  2. Tap on the notification.
  3. Tap Submit an appeal.
  4. Follow the instructions provided.

How to submit an appeal to tik tok

How content moderation works on TikTok

Content on TikTok first goes through technology that identifies and flags potential policy violations, such as adult nudity and violent and graphic content. In the areas where our technology is the most accurate, the content will be automatically removed. In other areas, content will be flagged for additional review by our Safety team. From here: • If the content violates Community Guidelines, well remove the video and notify the creator of the reason. Well also give you the opportunity to appeal the removal directly from the app. • If we dont identify a violation, the video will be posted to TikTok. Keep in mind, if the video is reported or flagged in the future, it could still be removed for violating guidelines.

What happens if your content is flagged or reported

Our violation system counts the number of violations you get, and is based on the severity and frequency of violations. If you have a violation, well notify you of the consequences in the Account Updates section of your Inbox. You can also see a record of your violations in your Inbox. More frequent violations will result in more penalties and youll be notified in different parts of the app. Here’s how it works:First violation • Well send a warning in the app the first time your content violates our Community Guidelines. • If the violation is a zero-tolerance policy, it will result in an automatic ban. We may also block a device to help prevent future accounts from being created.After the first violation After your first violation, we can take one or more of the following actions.Temporary ban: • We may suspend your accounts ability to upload a video, comment, or edit your profile for a period of time (typically between 24 or 48 hours), depending on the severity of the violation and previous violations. • We may restrict your account to a view-only experience (typically between 72 hours or up to one week). This means that your account can’t post or engage with content during that time.Permanent ban: • After several violations, well notify you that your account may be permanently banned. This means that if the behavior persists, the account will be permanently banned.Important things to know about violations: • Our zero-tolerance policies, such as posting child sexual abuse material, automatically result in banning your account. We may also block a device to help prevent future accounts from being created. • Accrued violations will expire from your record over time.

Leave a Comment