Closing your account and deleting your data

How to Delete Your eBay Account

Closing your account and deleting your data

When you submit a request to close your account, we’ll send an email to your registered email address and to your eBay Messages within 24 hours letting you know we’ve received it. Generally, it takes 30 days to close an account from the date we receive a request. However, if you’ve bought or sold items in the 30 days prior to submitting your request, we’ll keep your account open for 60 days from receiving your request so any outstanding sales or purchases can be completed and so we can meet our commitments to all buyers and sellers under the eBay Money Back Guarantee.

The right to have your personal data (including personal information) deleted depends on privacy regulations which vary by country and region. For example, the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”) identifies the right to have your personal data deleted, also known as the “right to erasure,” subject to certain exceptions. At eBay, we extend this right to delete your data to all users regardless of a country or region’s regulation.

Unless you’ve reconsidered and would like to keep your account, and as long as your account is in good standing and none of the exceptions listed below apply, your account will be closed and your data will be deleted within 30–60 days of receiving your request. To keep your account, your account must have been in good standing at the time your closure request was submitted. Suspended or restricted user accounts will be closed, and we’re unable to allow you to reopen the account.

After the 30-day or 60-day period (depending on whether you’ve bought or sold in the past 30 days) your account will be permanently closed and your data will be deleted. If you change your mind and decide to keep your account, you have 7 days from the account closure to request that your account be reopened. We can reopen your account only if it was in good standing when you closed it.

eBay deletes personal data using approved methods such as encryption, pseudonymization, and aggregation. For your part, you’ll need to clear cache, cookies, and history from each browser you used to sign in to your eBay account. If you downloaded any eBay apps on any of your mobile devices, you’ll need to delete those too.

Leave a Comment