Can Facebook Friends See Me On Tinder? Or Can I Use It Incognito?

Facebook and Tinder are connected, so unfortunately, unless you move to a city where none of your Facebook friends live and/or you adjust your Discovery Settings so that it’s impossible for any of them to fall within any of the ranges (though, that second suggestion sounds really challenging and unnecessary), there’s

How To Keep Your Tinder Private From Your Facebook Friends

Will There Be A Day That My Facebook Friends Can See Me On Tinder?

Chances are, no. With an ever-increasing focus on privacy, especially from Facebook’s point of view (we all remember what happened), you can most likely rest easy knowing that any of your Facebook friends won’t be able to see you on Tinder.

There was a time in 2016 when Tinder and Facebook tried to buddy up a little too much for people’s comfort. Group dates and mutual friends were a thing, but what this meant for most people, is that your Facebook friends can see you use the app.

This caused backlash and inevitably led to the downfall of Facebook and Tinder integration at this level. So, if history tells us anything, don’t stress.

It also used to be doable for friends to dig into what apps you have connected to your Facebook account (which means Tinder). This is also old news.

How to Use Tinder Without Facebook Friends Knowing

Even though Tinder does not post to your profile and no longer includes Tinder Social, there are indirect ways that Facebook friends may see that you use Tinder. Some of the most obvious ways have been removed. For example, Facebook no longer lets you search for “friends who use Tinder”. Nor does Facebook allow you to view “Apps others use” any more.

Megan is a Junior Editor at MUO. In 2016, she decided to unite her qualification in New Media and lifetime of geekiness to pursue a career in tech and gaming journalism. You can usually find her writing about a variety of topics and drooling over new gadgets. She has a BA Honours in Linguistics and Applied Language Studies in addition to her Bachelor of Journalism.

The feature used to let you know if you and another Tinder user shared Facebook friends. This made it easier for matches to track down your Facebook profile. It also presented the risk of other Tinder users notifying a mutual friend that you were on the app. However, the feature no longer exists.

Leave a Comment